Saturday, October 31, 2009

Defying the Trends and Raising the Bar for Badminton in the ’09 Badminton Open

Over the past five years, the Philippine National Open Badminton Championships has aimed to raise the standards and incorporate changes to change the playing field to cater to more age groups. Now in their sixth year, the annual event has produced several badminton icons, opened interest for badminton for first-timers and enthusiasts alike, and strengthened marketing efforts to continually promote the sport.

The event spanned across ten days (Oct. 16–25) at the Yonex Philippines Badminton Club, Liberty Center, Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong City. Individual participants competed via single elimination, while the doubles and team participants (corporate and collegiate) battled in a round robin competition. Players competed for cash prizes from Php1,500.00 for Juniors 8 and below to Php20,000.00 for the corporate and open categories.

(Legend: GS – Girls Singles; BS – Boys Singles; GD – Girls Doubles; BD – Boys Doubles; XD – Mixed Doubles; MD – Men’s Doubles; WD – Women’s Doubles)

CORPORATE TEAM: Philippine Star
Juniors 8U GS Aldreen Rae Concepcion
Juniors 8U BS John Bryan Bernardo
Juniors 10U GS Thea Marie Pomar
Juniors 10U BS Frell Keeyann Gabuelo
Juniors 12U GS Cassandra Lim
Juniors 12U BS Daniel Guda
Juniors 12U GD Paola Beatriz Bernardo and Alyssa Ysabel Leonardo
Juniors 12U BD Roberto Pineda and Ceyel Pajarillo
Juniors 12U XD Roberto Pineda and Jacqueline Keyser
Juniors 14U GS Ma. Bianca Ysabel Carlos
Juniors 14U BS Elijah Abdel Boac
Juniors 14U GD Janelle Glorianne De Vera and Elainne Vinluan
Juniors 14U BD Kenneth Monterubio and Gerald Sibayan
Juniors 14U XD Lance Erickson Bautista and Dia Nicole Magno
Juniors 16U GS Rochelle Andres
Juniors 16U BS Peter Gabriel Magnaye
Juniors 16U GD Krisnin Camille Yang and Anna Patricia Barredo
Juniors 16U BD Marco Bermejo and Voughn Ivan Angsico
Juniors 16U XD Rj Ubungen and Pauline Angelica Ramos
Juniors 18U GS Karyn Velez
Juniors 18U BS Philip Joper Escueta
Juniors 18U BS Philip Joper Escueta
Juniors 18U GD Danica Bolos and Descka Calimlim
Juniors 18U BD Peter Gabriel Magnaye and Patrique Magnaye
Juniors 18U XD Wilfredo Amoroso and Jamila Fatima Cruz
Open WS Gelita Castilo
Open MS Antonino Benjamin Gadi
Open WD Kennie Asuncion and Karyn Velez
Open MD Ian Gil Piencenaves and Marlon Villarin
Open XD Kennevic Asuncion and Kennie Asuncion
Seniors A MD Ruel Inciong and Eduard Namoco
Seniors A WD Rina Batuigas and Dalia Santiago
Seniors A XD Ginalee Daymiel and Ronald Daymiel
Seniors B MD Prospero Aguilar and JD De Jesus
Seniors B WD Junalee Magnaye and Noreen Go
Seniors B XD JD De Jesus and Marga Tan
Seniors C MD Manric Zalamea and Jofer Velez
Seniors C WD Elaine Lao and Rommie Tan
Seniors C XD Boy Mejica and Myrna Rosete
Seniors Singles MS Ronald Daymiel
Seniors Singles WS Annelyn Alba

The Philippine National Open Badminton Championships is presented by Yonex, Sunrise Sports, Juego, and Gatorade, and sponsored by Yonex, Badminton Hub, Sports Hub,, Potato Corner, and Elarz Lechon, with media partners The Philippine Star, our official radio partner, Wave 89.1, and Solar Sports.

For a complete list of the tournament guidelines, please see For more information, you may send an email to; or call telephone numbers (02) 5153399 or 0916-6772195.


Post a Comment