Monday, November 30, 2009

Dancers Show Flair in DanceSport National Tilt

The DanceSport Council of the Philippines Inc. (DSCP)launched the DSCP National Championships in conjunction with its 13th anniversary celebration. The competition was held last Nov. 29, with almost 400 dancers competing for the top spot.

Also geared toward finding the best candidates for the national pool of competitive dancers, DSCP Becky Garcia said that this competition is a way to keep the Philippine dancers visible on the international scene and also to develop of the skills of the country’s representatives in future dance tilts. The event was originally scheduled to be held at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium last Oct. 10, but was rescheduled to the Nov. 29 launch because of Typhoon Ondoy. The dance competition was held at the Rizal Ballroom of the Makati Shangri-La Hotel.

Serving as adjudicators in the competition are Mr. Jeff Elworthy (Australia), Ms. Hermien Rachmat (Indonesia), Mr. Marcel Keijzer (Netherlands), Mr. Victor Buenavida (Spain), Mr. Paul Harris (United Kingdom), Mr. Michael Lim (Singapore), and Mr. Gheorghe Raducan (Romania), licensed adjudicators from the International Dance Sport Federation (IDSF).

The dance championships had a total of 27 divisions in the Standard and Latin categories. Among those competing are National DanceSport athletes Emmanuel Reyes and Maira Rosete (Standard), Brian Ocana and Karla Ocana (Standard), Ronnie Vergara and Charlea Lagaras (Latin), and John Melencio and Dearlie Gerodias (Latin).The winners in the different divisions are:

Grade A Latin: Ronnie Steve Vergara and Charlea Lagaras (Cebu)
Grade A Standard: Brian Ocana and Karla Ocana (Metro Manila)
Grade B Latin: Anselmo Estillore Jr. and Mae Lozada (Cebu)
Grace B Standard: Gil Satrain and Chiao-Mei Chu (Metro Manila)
Grade C Latin: Jungie Zamora and Sheena Richen Daminar (Mindanao)
Grade C Standard: Don Kristian Bolaños and Alona Dangcalan (Luzon)
Grade D Latin: Joseph Bautista and Luzviminda Atruz (Metro Manila)
Grade D Standard: Glenn Marvin Fabul and Richelle Cabigas (Luzon)
Junior A Latin: Nigelandes Legaspi and Rochelle Canoy (Metro Manila)
Junior A Standard: Tristan John Ducay and Willanne Rose Ducay (Metro Manila)
Junior C Latin: Nigelandes Legaspi and Rochelle Canoy (Metro Manila)
Juvenile C Latin: Joshua Orapa and Dannah Joyce Piol (Metro Manila)
Juvenile C Standard: Joshua Orapa and Dannah Joyce Piol (Metro Manila)

The event was sponsored by the Philippine Sports Commission, the Philippine Olympic Committee, PCSO, PAGCOR, NU 107, Savannah Moon, Water Zone, Studio 116, and Ho. Andrea Domingo.

For more details of DSCP and the complete list of winners, visit their website at


Post a Comment