Thursday, April 22, 2010

Tagaytay and Palawan Heavily Favored in 2010 Inter-Province Chess Tilt

The 2010 Inter-Provincial Chess Team Championships challenged the country’s top chess teams to prove their worth last April 10–15 at the Cabagnot Cultural and Training Center in Old Buswang, Kalibo, Aklan.

Led by Grandmaster Darwin Laylo, the Tagaytay Team went head to head with over 30 other teams, including the Palawan Team, helmed by GM Rogelio Antonio, Jr.

Other respected names in the roster of players are GM John Paul Gomez of LWUA-A, DAR-Lanao del Sur’s Fide Master Roderick Nava, Makati City’s own FM David Elorta, Alcon John Datu of LWUA-B, FM Emmanuel Senador of Laguna, Bicol’s National Master Edmundo Gatus, NM Cesar Mariano of Iloilo, NM Rolando Andador of Bacolod, La Paz-Iloilo NM Rodrigo Atotubo, NM Francis Jocson of Capiz, NM Levi Mercado from Misamis Oriental, Boracay A’s International Master Ildefonso Datu, NM Alfred Akaling of Aklan Junior, and IM Oliver Barbosa from Rizal.

Governor Carlito S. Marquez of Aklan and National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) president Mr. Prospero “Butch” Pichay led the opening ceremonies of the tournament.

NCFP Secretary General and Tagaytay Mayor Bambol Tolentino enumerated the rules, and reiterated that each team is allowed to field four regular players and one alternate, with only one titled player (GM, IM, FM, or NM) in the roster.

The nine-round Swiss system tourney used the match point system with a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment to finish the game.

Trophies and cash prizes were given to the winner, with the champion bagging P100,000 plus trophy and gold medals. The runner-up received P70,000 plus trophy and silver medals, the third placer got P50,000 plus trophy and bronze medals, and the fourth placer and the fifth placer received P30,000 and P20,000, respectively..

Trophies and cash prizes were also awarded to the sixth to tenth placers as follows: P10,000 (6th); P9,000 (7th); P8,000 (8th); P7,000 (9th); and P6,000 (10th). Medals and a cash gift of P2,000 were also be given to the top individual performers from boards one to five.

For a list of the tournament rules, please visit Results are available at

Please call the NCFP Office at telephone number 381-7224 or the NCFP Executive and Events Director Willie Abalos at 09285513089, 09292390644, or 09292266210 for inquiries. You may also contact the Aklan Provincial Sports Coordinator Wilfredo Neri at mobile number 09205636732, Ilann Perez at 09053269576, or Patrick Lee at 09277209260.


Post a Comment