Thursday, July 16, 2009

31st ASM Recognized 2009 Best Works in Science and Technology

Scientists who continuously aim for the advancement of science and technology and research works designed to uplift the status of the whole Philippine society were awarded at the prestigious National Academy of Science and Technology 31st Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) held at the Manila Hotel last July 8-9, 2009.

The event was spearheaded by the National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST), the highest government advisory body on issues and concerns related to science and technology. This year's ASM convention carried the theme “Active Aging: Preparing for Quality Life”.

Nineteen scientists, 7 scientific papers, 2 books, a monograph, and 6 posters were recognized as the best in their respective fields.

Leading the roster of awardees are the four newly-elected Academicians: Dr. Rodel D. Lasco (Forestry), Dr. Eufemio T. Rasco Jr. (Plant Breeding), Dr. Rhodora V. Azanza (Botany), and Dr. Fabian M. Dayrit (Chemistry); and one Corresponding Member: Dr. Manuel M. Garcia (Microbiology).

Dr. Felino P. Lansigan is this year’s NAST-Hugh Greenwood Environmental Science Awardee. The NAST Talent Search for Young Scientists award was given to Dr. Roel R. Suralta of the Philippine Rice Research Institute (Philrice) and Dr. Mary Ann O. Torio of the University of the Philippines Los Baños, and special citation for Dr. Jonas P. Quilang of the University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman.

Nine scientists and researchers were awarded as this year’s Outstanding Young Scientists. They are Dr. Antonio G. Lalusin (Plant Breeding) and Dr. Lucille B. Villegas (Microbiology) of UP Los Baños; Dr. Ronald D. Villanueva (Marine Science), Dr. Julius M. Basilla (Mathematics) and Dr. Stella Luz A. Quimbo (Economics) of UP Diliman; Dr. Ma. Stephanie Fay S. Cagayan (OB-Gyne and Trophoblastic Diseases) and Dr. Leoncio L. Kaw (Surgery) of UP Manila; Dr. Melito A. Baccay (Civil Engineering) of the Technological University of the Philippines Manila; and Dr. Lawrence B. Dacuycuy (Economics) of De La Salle University Manila (DLSU).

Dr. Maricor N. Soriano of UP Diliman bagged the award for the Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Prize for Young Scientists in the Philippines for her outstanding contributions in information processing and pattern recognition of optical signals.

The winning papers include the “Development of Integrated Pest Management Program for Mango in Palawan, Philippines” (Medina et al) ; “Geodatabase Development for Forest Restoration and Biodiversity Conservation in the Mt Makiling Forest Reserve, Philippines” (Bantayan et al); “Coastal Pollution Due to Increasing Nutrient Flux in Aquaculture Sites” (David et al); “Decolorization and Chemical Oxygen Demand (COD) Reduction of Sugar Refinery Spent Ion-Exchange-Process (SIEP) Effluent by Electrochemical Treatment Method” (Capunitan et al); “Cloning and Characterization of the Oleosin cDNA Isoforms from Coconut (Cocos nucifera L.)” (Regalado et al) and “Isolation and Characterization of the Oil Bodies and Oleosin of Coconut (Cocos nucifera L.)” (Rodelas et al); and “Activity of Metal Oxides Supported on Activated Carbon During Xylene Oxidation” (Gallardo et al).

Books on the Fragrant Ornamental Plants in the Philippines by Teresita Lantin-Rosario (UP Press: 2005) and Bone Tumors in Filipinos by Edward H.M. Wang and Ariel Vergel de Dios (Bookmark, Inc: 2007) were relegated to the top of this year’s Outstanding Books. On the other hand, the Banwa Natural Science, Special Issue on Sago (Metroxylan sagu Rorrb.) published by the Office of Research of UP Mindanao was awarded as the Outstanding Monograph.

The six winning scientific posters were “Carbon storage and sequestration potential of upland and mangrove forest ecosystem in Binahaan watershed and Padre Burgos, Quezon” (Gevaña et al); “CpG Oligodeoxynucleotides as Immunomodulators of rBio t 5-Induced Allergic Reactions” (Ramos et al); “Synthesis and Characterization of Cordierite Prepared from Mixtures of Philippine Kaolinite Clay, Talc and Other Additives” (Pondoc & Mendoza); “Histomorphometry and Osteoinductive Growth Factor Levels of Fracture Callus Versus Iliac Crest Bone Grafts” (Gaston et al); “The Young, the Elderly and Household Saving: Evidence from the Philippines” (Mapa & Bersales); and “Physical Activity, Energy Requirements and Adequacy of Dietary Macro- and Micronutrient Intakes of Older Persons in a Rural Filipino Community” (Resonar et al).

The National Academy of Science and Technology 31st Annual Scientific Meeting is sponsored by the Department of Science and Technology, Department of Health, Philippine Council for Health Research and Development, Department of Social Welfare and Development, Office of Senator Edgardo Angara, Institute of Human Genetics – NIH-UP Manila, Centro Escolar University, United Laboratories, Inc., Omnibus Biomedical Systems, Philippine Council for Aquatic and Marine Research and Development, Philippine Council for Advanced Science and Technology Research and Development, Southeast Asian Regional Center for Graduate Study and Research in Agriculture, Ateneo de Manila University, Philrice, and DLSU.

For more information, contact the National Academy of Science and Technology at (632) 838-7739, 838-7766, 838-7792, email,, or visit their website at


Post a Comment